Alugas refillable used with exchange cylinder

I am not suggesting that the cylinders get filled to more than 80%, so here is more info for the sceptics out there, 2 litres of LPG weigh 1kg. 1 Make sure the cylinder is completely empty. 2 Attach the adaptor and open the cylinder valve, there is a non-return valve in the adaptor, connect the Autogas nozzle, when the cylinder is filled to the required amount of LPG, remove the pump nozzle, turn off the valve on the cylinder. 5 This golden rule applies to any size of cylinder, IE 6kg will be full when 12 litres of LPG are added and a 13kg cylinder will be full when 26 litres of gas are added, what ever size of cylinder you have this golden rule applies, so its very safe, except for the dummies out there who cant count, which group do you fall into ?
Furthermore I am a Welder to trade, I worked with high pressure gases in the course of my employment, I have worked in the Oil and Gas industry, Petro Chemical industry and Oil Rig Construction, as a Job Skills Trainer and Supervisor, on-shore and offshore, most of my working life, just because I retired does not mean I have forgot my training/trade or skills learned from my work experience, so you guys out there, go ahead keep paying through the nose, for your gas supplies, mind you some of the people I have met, I would not trust them to fill a watering can, so if your not confident in your abilities, do not attempt this procedure. Remember the Golden Rule 2 litres of LPG/Autogas weighs 1kg, this applies to any size of cylinder.
I rest my case

Last edited by a moderator:
1.96 litres of propane weighs 1 kilogram. Autogas can be a mixture of propane and butane, it varies considerably in different European countries. Before relying on a weight conversion you need to know the proportion of propane to butane and include the weight of the butane, which I think is lighter. Alternatively you could buy a safe refillable cylinder with the 80% cut off.