No power in battery

Catherine

It’s been a tough 12 months. Bought a motorhome for husband as it was his dream and he had cancer diagnosis. Sadly he deteriorated and passed on in December.

I heard beep beep beep noises from the motorhome and went to investigate. The engine wouldn’t start and I have a flat battery. I think my thatcham alarm has drained it. Ordered a charger but it is a trickle charger and I don’t think it will work to recharge a dead battery?

I ow know that I should have started my engine regularly etc. Supporting my husband at the end of his life was my priority and I am a novice motorhomer. Your thoughts on how to restore life to my battery (without rebuke) valued x

Sorry to read about your situation.
Try the trickle charger for say 24hours or more and see what happens...It may be OK
But careful after that as often a battery which has gone that low may not work properly..But give it a try before getting a new battery.

If the dash lights still work there may be a chance of charging battery up,there should be a on board charger once a cable is plugged into van outside,if its on your drive leave this in when not using.
Sorry to hear about loss,take time and life will repair.

Sorry to hear of your loss.
Jagmax advice is good, sometimes they can be revived,
Any more problems, ask away. It's hard when problems arise that you've not had to deal with before.

What are details of motorhome as this will help with giving you suitable advice , although it seems to have been pretty well covered so far :)

As bad as things may seem with the motor home, it is only a battery, you’re in good hands on this forum.
There’s a motor factor giving a healthy discount on line atm.
Try GSF online, order today and get up to 60% discount. Hope this helps. I posted this sometime ago on the forum, checked again today and the offer is still available . Don’t know how they do it for the price, but that’s not our problem is it?