Using a second portable solar panel?

Molly 3

Due to limited roof space I want to use a portable solar panel alongside my roof sp panel .this means I will be using 2 separate charge controllers one mppt and one pwm To the same battery. Will this cause conflict's ,between the controllers ,or would it be OK both sp are 100 w .the roof panel has the factory fit Sargent unit that charges both engine a hab battery's but it only takes 120 w max .

I think you can fit a plug and run them both through the same controller seen phil fit similar to rugby Ken’s van a few weeks back you might have to upgrade your existing controller though I’m no expert but I think it can be done.

Fit a 12 volt plug on the freestanding one. Run the cable from the fixed one through a junction box with a 12 volt socket fitted and connect the wiring (+ to + and - to -). When you need more solar power, just plug the spare one in.

Been using that system for years and it works well.

Fit a 12 volt plug on the freestanding one. Run the cable from the fixed one through a junction box with a 12 volt socket fitted and connect the wiring (+ to + and - to -). When you need more solar power, just plug the spare one in.

Been using that system for years and it works well.
Problem is the original sargent factory fit controller is 120 w .total sp watts is 200 w so too high for the original controller

Last edited:
I am no expert but would think that 2 controllers would confuse each other. A controller is there to protect the battery from overcharging and should be monitoring the battery voltage. If there are 2 controllers they could be reading the voltage output from the other one, not the battery. My guess is that the more sensitive controller will shut off from charging, mistaking the output from the other one as a full battery.