Rolls Lithium S12 135

Jenrai

Hey gang, just wanted to check as you know I am not technical. Here is a link to the web page for the battery I have installed :Lithium S12 135

This is connected to a Victron controller, now we have colder weather am I reading the information correctly that I don't need to worry about the colder weather damaging the battery as it has a heater and BMS?

Hey gang, just wanted to check as you know I am not technical. Here is a link to the web page for the battery I have installed :Lithium S12 135

This is connected to a Victron controller, now we have colder weather am I reading the information correctly that I don't need to worry about the colder weather damaging the battery as it has a heater and BMS?
Looks like a very nice battery (y)

I would say you are right in what you are saying. The key summary is:

Charge Mode:
  • Charge at recommend voltage & current by temperature until charge current drops to ≤ 0.05C (CC,CV)
  • DO NOT USE TEMPERATURE COMPENSATION
  • No BTS (Batteries Temperature Sensor)
And the key part is "No BTS". On the Victron controller, you want to make sure the Low Temperature cut-off is disabled. By default when you set the battery type to Lithium, this is enabled (see screen shot below)
controller.png
This is often forgotten about and left active even for batteries with heaters built-in. For Lithium Batteries without heaters, it can be very important to enable, but for batteries with heaters, you definately want it disabled.

@wildebus you give such detailed explanations I am very grateful, how do I find and disable the temperature compensation?

Is there a control panel on the controller or would it be an app?

@wildebus you give such detailed explanations I am very grateful, how do I find and disable the temperature compensation?

Is there a control panel on the controller or would it be an app?