Cable Advice

Yes Arctic cable will be more than satisfactory. Slightly too thick and heavy for the lighting but with thoughtful and careful runs you should manage OK. Use coloured heat shrink bands to identify cables.

Alf

Hi all, I have the following cable for my 220v section of my off grid electrical install. I am going to have surplus. I'm no electrician by any means. Would I be able to use this cable for the 12v runs too?

https://www.electriccable.co.uk/RWD...1DGCBg7mAOj4pjPSzv27ulbdeOybVHh-XcNiiST0npe54

Yes Arctic cable will be more than satisfactory. Slightly too thick and heavy for the lighting but with thoughtful and careful runs you should manage OK. Use coloured heat shrink bands to identify cables.

Alf
Thanks Alf

Hi all, I have the following cable for my 220v section of my off grid electrical install. I am going to have surplus. I'm no electrician by any means. Would I be able to use this cable for the 12v runs too?

https://www.electriccable.co.uk/RWD...1DGCBg7mAOj4pjPSzv27ulbdeOybVHh-XcNiiST0npe54
It really isn't that straightforward to answer, especially as the link you have points to many different cable sizes... 1.5mm, 2.5mm, 4mm, etc.

The determinants of suitable cable selection are current draw and cable length - particularly for very low voltage (e.g. 12v) systems. In general, the greater the current being drawn, and the longer the run of cable, the greater the cable's cross-sectional area must be.

If you're going to be running a couple of led lamps of (say) total power of 5W, then the current draw will be 5W/12V = slightly less than 0.5Amps. According to regs, a 1.5mm cable would be more than adequate for this.