Clutch Wear

Nick-Mandy

Hi folks,

I recently ventured out to north of Barnstaple in North Devon. I encountered the ridiculous 10%, 16%, and 25% gradients. Not a real issue, but stupidly, I filled both fuel and water tanks up to the top beforehand. This caused me on one or two (maybe three) occasions to really put excessive stress on the clutch.

Away from that area, I continued to go up and down the gearbox excessively for another day or so, although this time the fuel level was half as much and water tank was 20% full.

Now in an area of reasonable hills and valleys, after a while driving I get a smell of overheating (I presume from the clutch plates).

My 3.5 ton vehicle has only travelled 10,700 miles from new, and although the clutch still works perfectly, I am stressed out that I've damaged the clutch so early on in its life.

I am no mechanic so I rely on experienced motorhomers help here.

How long should a clutch last? (I thought 60k miles, but I maybe wrong).
Are there any signs that indicate in advance that the clutch plates are on their way out?
Can they be checked for wear without splitting the gearbox?
Should I be worried and just be careful in future?

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

Last edited:
The clutch only wears when it is slipping. Keep your foot off the pedal and it should last several million miles. Though I'm not sure how that would be possible!
If you change gear neatly with little or no 'slur' the only time the clutch will wear is when you stop and start. So chances are it'll last a few hundred thousand miles.
If you use the clutch to hold on hills, or you prod the clutch to keep the engine alive under heavy load, you can wear the clutch out in five thousand miles or less.
The reality will normally be somewhere in between.
If you bought the van secondhand, you can't tell who drove it before, so you can't guess how long the clutch will last. Nobody can give a sensible figure.