General advice

adyver

Free Member

Having recently retired I am considering investing around 55k in a Motorhome. I have no experience of motorhomes so hoping for some pointers.
Is a van with a fixed bed a better option than turning the lounge area into a bed every night. Is there a reasonable choice of 4 berth vans which can be driven on a car licence. Is 55k sufficient to get a decent a fairly new motorhome. I have heard that there are a lot of scammers advertising Motorhomes for sale privately, what should I be looking out for?
TIA

Welcome to Motorhomers, adyver.

Many people have experienced your concerns, and for me there is only one piece of advice I can give. For you the right thing to do is to hire a motorhome for about a week. Take notes each and every day of what you liked, and what you did not, and use them as your bible.

The reason is that everyone is different and will offer advice based on what type of layout they prefer. For a week's hire you can avoid all that expensive pain.

I hope you choose to become a full member, as there is so much talent and experience here.

Welcome to Motorhomers, adyver.

Many people have experienced your concerns, and for me there is only one piece of advice I can give. For you the right thing to do is to hire a motorhome for about a week. Take notes each and every day of what you liked, and what you did not, and use them as your bible.

The reason is that everyone is different and will offer advice based on what type of layout they prefer. For a week's hire you can avoid all that expensive pain.

I hope you choose to become a full member, as there is so much talent and experience here.
I think this is the best advice you could get .