Habitation Check, or not??

Pinchcliff

Free Member

Hi, I'm new to motor homing and plan to buy one in August when I retire, I'm viewing one this weekend and discussed the issue of hab checks with him. He stated that as the van is old (2005 Burstner) he doesn't bother with a hab check? Any thoughts?

We've camped in caravans and campers for around 30 years.

Everyone has their own view on habitation checks, and it's not surprising considering the ability of the owner, variety of vans available, and varying build qualities.

For instance, I didn't bother with HabChecks on our last 2005 van because I knew every part of it backwards, and if anything needed fixing, I wanted it done immediately...... By me. If I didn't understand how a specific item worked, I took it to someone I trusted. Because I looked after it, it didn't have s trace of damp in the woodwork when we sold it.

Three years ago, we downsized and bought a new PVC. They are not affected by damp, but to maintain the warranty we currently pay for an annual habitation check. When the warranty expires, I'll think again.

It's an emotional subject, and others will hold different views.

The hab check is not just about damp tests, a thorough check will include the gas supply for safety and the water system for leaks. Not having one done for years doesn't mean the van is free from faults. At the very least I'd want a gas safety check done before parting with cash.

I wouldn't buy a van without a pre-sale hab check, including a gas integrity check, especially in your circumstances as a newbie.
In fact I would be suspicious ìf the seller is claiming it doesn't need one.

As can be seen, from studying the list, the majority of the checks, are so easy to carry out, yourself. It looks comprehensive, but is so easy to do.
The gas checks are probably the most difficult, but, remember that LPG, has a built in pungent smell. This is for safety, and makes it quite obvious, if there is a leak.