Motorhome/Campervan office energy requirements and setup for working off-grid

ksierra37

Free Member

I am planning to have in a near future a Motorhome or Campervan from where I will need to be able to work remotely. This can be in any season of the year, in the south of Europe or here in Scotland, thus the sun and wind availability will be different.

I am trying to figure out the requirements to be able to have a full working day from solar and/or wind energy, plus all the other necessities for living off-grid on it for weeks in a row.

I am a software developer, thus my setup consists of a laptop plus two monitors, thus I will need to have enough energy to power them for an entire working day, and also to power the fridge, the TV, charge the mobile devices, and for the occasional use of my wife laptop. We don't use microwave at home, therefore will not use them on the Motorhome, but we may want to use a kettle. While we don't use microwave we cook a lot, thus the hob and the oven will be used a lot, but they run only from gas, or am I mistaken?

I know that will need to have solar panels, wind turbine, backup generator and enough batteries to store the necessary energy, but I am not sure the best approach to come up with all the power I need to account for, and the necessary hardware(solar panels, wind turbine, batteries) setup to satisfy this power needs.

I will use leds in the lights for saving energy and I will use a diesel parking heater for that cold days, but not sure how I will do for the hot days, because the AC must be very energy hungry.

Is it best to use inverters to power the laptops and monitors or buy 12v power supplies for them?

I want to know if its' possible to survive off-grid for weeks without the need to go to a campsite to hook to the mains power, and without the need to make use of the backup generator, ideally I should start it only for maintenance purposes ;)