Recommendations please

Gav

Free Member

Looking for a deep cycle gel battery, I have 100w solar panel, (I'm a bit of a novice in this area)

looking for advice on what one to buy,

thanks for any advice

Regards

Gav

I'm very happy with my Leoch AGM160 battery. It's a bit of a beast weighing in at around 43kg and it's not the smallest of batteries. Alpha Batteries were competitive when I bought mine and you get a discount for being on here ( or Wildcamping?)
Worth putting on your shortlist in my opinion.
Let us know what you decide.
K ;)

Reactions: Gav
I'm very happy with my Leoch AGM160 battery. It's a bit of a beast weighing in at around 43kg and it's not the smallest of batteries. Alpha Batteries were competitive when I bought mine and you get a discount for being on here ( or Wildcamping?)
Worth putting on your shortlist in my opinion.
Let us know what you decide.
K ;)
Thanks still looking into all the parts I need as will need new charge system to

Why gel? they cost more but are no better. Personally, I'd choose AGM, but not gel.
But the important measure is how heavy the battery is. It should weigh AT LEAST 300 grammes* per 12v Ah.
So a 100Ah 12v battery should weigh at least 30KG.
Best not to buy a single battery weighing more than 50KG, because they're too difficult to handle. I know: some of my batteries weigh 75KG each. I'd have bought two smaller ones instead if they hadn't been such a stonking bargain.
Leoch or Fullriver are the brands I suggest.
*Not 30 grammes, as I originally typed

Last edited:
Why gel? they cost more but are no better. Personally, I'd choose AGM, but not gel.
But the important measure is how heavy the battery is. It should weigh AT LEAST 30 grammes per 12v Ah.
So a 100Ah 12v battery should weigh at least 30KG.