Tracker

My plan is just to use the sim via text responses from the tracker. I'm probably missing something but I'm wondering how you managed to exceed fair usage when you were away in the van? Doesn't that just apply to roaming data? Genuine questions because I'm new to trackers and a bit confused. I can only think your tracker might function in a different way to mine?
Found this, their Fair Usage Policy. https://www.giffgaff.com/fair-usage-while-roaming. It seems to be saying that they allow 63 days as if at home and then give you 14 days warning before they charge at a higher rate. At least that is how I read it.

I think they just cut you off if you have been overseas for two months, regardless of how much you use it.
Even for texts? I honestly thought that just applied to data... live and learn eh?

Found this, their Fair Usage Policy. https://www.giffgaff.com/fair-usage-while-roaming. It seems to be saying that they allow 63 days as if at home and then give you 14 days warning before they charge at a higher rate. At least that is how I read it.
Thanks Cronkle. Although most of the guidance refers to data, there is indeed mention of texts in there. The good news is that it looks as though they just start charging for them at 1p per text instead of free, with no mention of cutting off, so I'm happy enough with that (y)

Yes Giff Gaff as with most have a 2 month limit...Which they "advertise" fairly
A bit like the 90 day rule but better..Once you use it in UK even for 1 day you get another 2 months away .(not that it is much use !)

I keep a spare Three simcard (Prepaid) for such emergencies..
A PAIN but read the small print...Not likely to get any better
As Fraser (Dad's Army) would say "We are all doomed".
But then Corporal Jones "Don't panic!"

PS I got a monthly Three contract in 2016 for Norway etc.
We were abroad for over 3 months and no problem/ cut off
I then cancelled the contract with no problem !
Three do seem better than most !