Tyre Pressures

Iain55

Hi all,
I am a newbie to motorhomes, got mine last August. I have not check my tyre pressures since I bought the vehicle.
They were all exactly 0.9 BAR below the sticker on the door.
I checked on the internet that seems correct for a Renault Master van.
However the sticker on the door says 4.5 and 5.5. My motorhome is 3.85 T (over 4 when fully laden)
In your experience does the door sticker seem correct ?

E7nYfZQfTWKyQrbROL3WJQ.jpg

It is worth going into the search panel as this topic has been covered a few times.
Some members on here think that manufacturers written pressures are wrong and pressures should be lower that stated.
I have tried to adhere to manufacturers TPs since owning my A class (4.5T) the last 6 years, pressures are stated as 5.5bar all round (tag axle) even though 80psi seems high.
I have tried 65psi in the hope that maybe it would prove to be a softer ride, but in my mind made no difference, so they are back up to 5.5bar.
The advantage of having a tag axle was evident when I had a puncture on one of the tyres on the middle axle, it made very little difference to the handling of the vehicle and I was able to still drive (sensibly) to a safe area where I could change the wheel.

The two main schools of thought are to either go by the vehicle manufacturer's pressures on the door pillar or to go to a weighbridge, weigh each axle and then go by the tyre manufacturers recommended pressures.

This is a good guide https://www.tyresafe.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/motorhome-leaflet.pdf. and if you have Continental tyres they produce their own booklet which is available on line. You could also email the tyre manufacturers with your tyre size and weights and they will usually reply with the appropriate figures. However, Michelin will always tell you that your rear axle must be at 80psi.

I prefer to go with the tyre manufacturers recommendations.