Which Class of MOT do I need ?

Whooooooosh

Hi,

I'm new to motorhoming having had mine for only 10 months. The MOT is due in March and I have absolutely no clue if I need a class 4, 5 or 7 MOT.

The van has a body type of MOTOR CARAVAN and a Revenue weight of 3650 KG Gross.

It is absolutely not used for transport of goods, only personal effects for camping.

Anyone know the MOT Class it needs ?

Hi,

I'm new to motorhoming having had mine for only 10 months. The MOT is due in March and I have absolutely no clue if I need a class 4, 5 or 7 MOT.

The van has a body type of MOTOR CARAVAN and a Revenue weight of 3650 KG Gross.

It is absolutely not used for transport of goods, only personal effects for camping.

Anyone know the MOT Class it needs ?
You will have a Class 4 MOT for that.
Be aware that not all MOT stations will be able to test due to the weight (their lift may not be rated with a sufficient safe working weight) so best to check first before booking.
FWIW, I take my >3.5t Motorhome to a garage that does MOTs on larger commercials as well as cars.

Try this site, it locates garages local to you. If you input your vehicle registration it should filter garages by those that can accommodate your motorhome. Link: bookmygarage

And the definition of a HCV....

"20 Definition of “heavy commercial vehicle” for the purposes of section 19.
(1)In section 19 of this Act, “heavy commercial vehicle” means any goods vehicle which has an operating weight exceeding 7.5 tonnes."

My 6.1m Autotrail Tracker RS doesn't feel like it weighs over 7.5 tonnes :)

Be aware that not all MOT stations will be able to test due to the weight (their lift may not be rated with a sufficient safe working weight) so best to check first before booking.
FWIW, I take my >3.5t Motorhome to a garage that does MOTs on larger commercials as well as cars.