Which Class of MOT do I need ?

Class 4
Class 4 vehicles can be:

cars, passenger vehicles, motor caravans, private hire vehicles, motor tricycles, quadricycles and dual purpose vehicles in all cases with up to eight passenger seats
goods vehicles not exceeding 3,000 kg design gross weight (DGW)
taxis and ambulances with up to eight passenger seats
passenger vehicles, ambulances, motor caravans and dual purpose vehicles with nine to twelve passenger seats

Class 7
Class 7 vehicles are goods vehicles over 3,000 kg up to and including 3,500 kg DGW.

They will be category N1.

Hi,

I'm new to motorhoming having had mine for only 10 months. The MOT is due in March and I have absolutely no clue if I need a class 4, 5 or 7 MOT.

The van has a body type of MOTOR CARAVAN and a Revenue weight of 3650 KG Gross.

It is absolutely not used for transport of goods, only personal effects for camping.

Anyone know the MOT Class it needs ?
Normally, large motorhomes get a Class 4 test done in a Class 7 workshop.

The problem is size and weight. An individual MOT tester has to be approved and certified, but also the workshop, the lift, even the parking and the viewing area. All have to be approved.

So even if your local garage has the ability to work on large vehicles, unless the lift it uses for bigger or heavier ones has been approved for mot tests, they can't do it.

Last edited:
As a BTW, the standard cost of an MOT Class 7 is a little more than a Class 4. Also, MOT stations will often discount the Class 4 cost to compete with other test stations, but not the Class 7 MOT (Class 7 test stations are much less common so less need to compete).
So people who are getting Class 7 tests for their campervans and motorhomes are likely paying more than they need to for the same result - another years MOT.
FWIW, the place I go to charges £40 for the Class 4 test on my current 3850Kg Motor Caravan and the same for the previous 4600Kg van.