Dump valve stuck open

dazdaz65

Free Member

Hi All
Please be gentle with me, I'm new to motorhomes.
I have 05 Ci Carioca 644
I haven't had it long and as I've said I'm new to all this and don't really know how things should work so here goes.
The dump valve (something I knew nothing about) next to the water heater under the FB decided to open and I lost all my fresh water.
When I tried to close it by lifting the red button, it just kept flicking back down to open again as if it was energized?
Left it a few days and now it operates as I think it should ie stays shut when I lift the said red button.
Now it might have been a glitch that's sorted it self out but thats not really what I want to know.
On the 3 or 4 occasions I've been away in the van I've had no issues but to run a tap, hot or cold, I first have to turn on the pump at the control panel then open said tap. As soon as I turn on the pump I can hear it kicking in and I use what water I need, then turn off the tap, but the pump continues to run until I turn it off at the control panel.
I really want to know is this normal procedure?
I have a canal boat and the pump remains on all the time and only kicks in when I open a tap, then shuts off when I close the tap. A flow switch controls the pump automatically.
Should my van be the same?
Can anyone on here advertise
Many thanks
Daz

Was it cold outside when this happened?

In my van the dump valve will automatically below 3 or 4degC if the heater isn't turned on, which is why I used to leave it on minimum setting all through the winter.

I've heard of people holding the valve closed with a clothes peg, but then you run the risk if freezing and damaging your boiler.

The pump will run because with the dump valve open it can't build up enough pressure to turn off. Presumably the water that you run off through the taps had lots of air in it?

Andy is right about careful use of a peg to hold the switch up, but are you actually using the van at the moment?