Plan for Aires in D&G - possibly

Somebody on the ball in D&G ?
As this area is often ignored by tourists perhaps there is more incentive to make themselves more campervan friendly ?

Here in D&G a lot of our local communities have access to wind farm grant payouts, so I know several are thinking of using some of this money to set up aire type facilities.
D&G is a great area, and even without aires there are loads of overnight options.

D&G have been authorising aires already. They have seen how successful they are; so they are stepping up the process. As well as windfarm funding there is also a Scottish Government fund to help rural communities. Only Highland and D&G have been using this funding to put in facilities for motorcaravans.

I've been visiting D&G for many years to enjoy the friendship of old friends who live in a quiet remote valley and who like it that way.

My mother's side of the family come from the tiniest hamlet in Northumberland, and it hurts me to see how popular it has become, for even my grandfather's home has become a holiday let.

Whilst I like the idea of the UK adopting continental Aires, I realise that these special places that I have known and loved for well over 60 years will change.

Am I selfish?

I don't think you are selfish. Yes things will change but if the Aires are located sensibly they would improve the area, over say five vans camping wild nearby?
I live in a small hamlet in Northumberland and would not want an aire right next to us, but a well kept aire just one field away would be fine.
Let's hope the locals support this initiative and we can all enjoy D&G that wee bit more.
K ;)

Here in D&G a lot of our local communities have access to wind farm grant payouts, so I know several are thinking of using some of this money to set up aire type facilities.
D&G is a great area, and even without aires there are loads of overnight options.