The future of diesel. What should I do?

Lyonnesse

I've dreamed of a van conversion, to my own specification, for years. I've just seen Rhale conversions at Peterborough and an upcoming pension payout is burning a hole in my pocket, but ...

Suppose I spend it all on a nearly new van and a smart conversion, the way things are going I won't be able to move it in a few years. I imagine more and more places will make it difficult or more expensive to enter certain zones, and gradually our world will get smaller. Aside from that, I'd love to be a bit greener.

I'm no techie but I'm guessing there won't be a future diesel to electric conversion available, and a van bought for business would simply be scrapped and replaced by a greener version. A camper is different though, as we'd be spending more on the interior than the shell. We want a big van so are looking at the Citroen L4H3, which I believe only comes in diesel anyway. Could it be converted to run on LPG (I know that's still a fossil fuel)?

What do people think? We travel in Europe as well as the UK.

To be honest, I wouldn’t think for a minute you’re the only one who’s in this dilemma.
I’m hoping that someone will see a financial opportunity for a diesel/electric conversation. Or, just maybe our political leaders will look again at the, diesel being the better fuel, nonsense we were told a few years ago.
Diesel’s won’t be banned over night, we will probably have to pay through the nose for it.

On a similar subject. I’ve seen no evidence lately of the global warming I’ve been warned of.

I honestly do believe that there is an enormous amount of scare mongering going on about diesel engined vehicles as there are so many millions of them on the roads throughout Europe, most especially in France where the vast majority of all vehicles have diesel engines.